Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Claudia Longo, supporting young adults living with MS

Diagnosed with MS at the age of 18, Claudia's entrepreneurial and impact story is not one to miss!

About Claudia

  • Founder and CEO of MS I’mpossible, a non-profit that provides community support and financial assistance to young adults living with MS to help them navigate the diagnosis and pursue a life full of possibilities

  • Managing Director of BoardReady, that seeks to catapult board diversification through data, experience and network strategies

  • Ex-student athlete at the University of Washington

Key a-ha moments from the podcast

  1. Be humble in knowing that you may not have everything figured out in the beginning, and reach out to others!

    “From the beginning, I knew that I didn’t have all the answers. So, I started having conversations with people in my network and talking to non-profit leaders in my area…at that point I was just a sponge”

  2. Sharing your story and mission can be really powerful, to create founder-market fit

    “I learnt over the 5 years (from 18) what young adults in this community needed because I wasn’t afraid to share my story and connect with them”

    There is always something you can take away from every conversation that can add to the bigger picture”

  3. Your end users/customers can be your biggest motivators and learning hubs

    “I take bits and pieces from the young adults in our cohort, and I get inspired in many unique ways. Even though the days can be draining, these stories are elevating…those are the moments that make all this worth it”

  4. Building a product/service should not just be limited to your situation - talk to more people, and figure out what matters

    “Initially, I was in my lane of what I needed…but being able to listen to other people using our programme, I can expand the service to a more self-encompassing way”

    “You think you know what people need, but you don’t realise minor adjustments that you can make…being adaptable to change is key!”

  5. Build your Board of Advisors based on the specific expertise that you need

    “With my board, I had these conversations with impactful people in my community, and I identified 4 areas where I needed support - finance, legal and governance, events and marketing, and development”

    “We meet monthly, and we have an agenda. But on every topic, my mind changes and the conversation moulds itself to what the final answer is”

Share Inspirele

Claudia’s advice to women who want to build businesses on their own terms

“I have been incredibly blessed to have amazing mentors in my life…I have learnt a lot of life and business lessons from them that have translated into the space that I am in now. Find your mentors, and your people that show you to your WHY

Discussion about this podcast

Inspirele
Inspirele's 100 Diverse Stories
Tune in as we tell diverse stories of female founders around the world. These are women who've done entrepreneurship on their own terms - whether it's bootstrapping, excelling in an unexpected industry, or being a #bosswoman while juggling many other priorities.